Lamps to match!

Standard

I bet you guys didn’t think I was doing anything with my crafty summer, well I’ll prove you wrong!

Check out these awesome lamps I painted to go with my new(ish) furniture.

I found these great lamps in the garage today. The brass is a good look but I was looking for something a little brighter and more fun so I got to thinking and since I’m creating a living room from scratch I figured I’d make lamps to match so I looked through my materials and had everything for this project except the primer!

Two lamps to match my room for the cost of a can of spray primer ~$4!

What you’ll need for this project:

Lamps
Krylon Primer (I used white)
Krylon Paint (I used Regal Blue)
plastic bags
tape
cleaner
paper towels

I washed off my lamps with a little Windex, brass cleaner would’ve been better but I didn’t have any handy and I just wanted to get the dust off anyway.

Don’t they have the best shape?

I then covered everything I didn’t want painted in plastic bags and taped them shut and to the lamp.

Now cover the thing in primer! It was probably a little too windy for me to do this today but I’m stubborn like that >.<

They kept their class through the primer didn’t they? I almost kept them white but then I remembered they’d be sitting next to a white couch and chair and on a white table… nah, they needed to be blue.

So I let the primer dry, it only about 15 minutes to be dry to the touch but I let it sit for about an hour.

Now for the blue!

This was easier said than done. I thought I had finished the whole thing and sat down and was looking again and the undersides of all of those curves were still white :/ (whoops!)

First coat

second coat…

up close!

Ta da! All done! I also love three way bulbs, and I’m all for saving the universe but I hope the government brings back regular light bulbs. 😦

Oh, I was also down in the barn (these were up on the old picnic table) and it started raining. I completely forgot they were outside, but when I got back the bags had protected the electrical components and the lamps were dry so the rain didn’t bother them at all.

Anyway, not only was this project inexpensive, it was quick and extremely easy. Before you throw your old lamps out, think about anywhere that could use a lamp and then MAKE them match your decor! 🙂






 

About captainneenmo

I enjoy crafts, cooking, movies, and a wide variety of other things which I'm sure you'll hear about soon enough. I'm new to the blogging experience and decided to give it a go after using Stumble Upon for the last few months. I've gotten some great ideas from a variety of blogs and figured I should do my part to spur the imagination and creativity of other stumblers like me. :P

Leave a Reply

