Crayons

Standard

I like to post to blog parties. Recently I’ve seen a lot of posts about crayon wax art referring to something they’d seen on Pinterest but not giving credit to the artist. So I looked up favorites on Pinterest and found the real inspiration: http://www.etsy.com/shop/JKCreate Definitely cool, but I’m thinking $70.00 is a little outside of my wall art budget. So seeing how I always have crayons and canvas laying around and I kidnapped my fiance’s heat gun, I decided to make my own.

I first spray painted my canvas with Krylon Black Spray Paint. Then, I hot glued my crayons in order to my canvas so that they’d be relatively straight.

After I started heating, it took about 5 minutes to get the drippy effect I wanted. Check it out, what do you think?

About captainneenmo

I enjoy crafts, cooking, movies, and a wide variety of other things which I'm sure you'll hear about soon enough. I'm new to the blogging experience and decided to give it a go after using Stumble Upon for the last few months. I've gotten some great ideas from a variety of blogs and figured I should do my part to spur the imagination and creativity of other stumblers like me. :P

2 responses »

  1. I love this! I was wondering, do you shoot the heat gun at the back of the canvas, or the front of the crayons? also, do you think a blow dryer would work too? I guess I should just experiment! =)

    • Thank you! I directed the heat on the front of the canvas right about the center of the crayons, if you do this be careful though and keep it moving. I let it sit for a little too long and the paper started smoking 0.0;. I think a blow dryer would work but it might blow too much air and cause splatters (the heat gun doesn’t seem to move very much air). Best of luck with your experiments! Post a picture if you can, I would like to see šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

