Ribbon bracelet

Standard

Today was upwards of 95 degrees again, nice and sweltering with about 80% humidity… bleh. So when the power went out (for absolutely no reason at all) my brother and I decided to go off the farm and visit my mother for lunch, which would have been a nice and cool outing had my brothers car AC been recharged… bleh again. It was a nice lunch regardless of the heat though, we had good company and good mood food*insert plug for Arby’s here.*

So when we got home and the power was still off, I found it hard to get motivated to work on my furniture make over project, or anything else that involved being outside for that matter. Instead, I made this ribbon bracelet.

I had been surfing the internet a while ago and stumbled on this site

Check out an awesome tutorial here

I wanted to try it out, but in this heat I was not thinking “scarf” AT ALL. So then I remembered this ribbon which I have about 8 spools of for God only knows why and used it instead. I’m really happy with the way it turned out. In order to make this particular bracelet I cut six 18″ lengths of ribbon, folded them in half and tied it with a bit of wax string to hold it. I then duct taped (it was handy) the string to the edge of my work bench and braided away. My very first 12 plait braid. Actually, my first ever braid that wasn’t a three strand braid 😛

The finished product is about 1″ wide, give or take a couple mm, and is so nice and lightweight you’d forget it was there if you could take your eyes off it 😉

One response »

Leave a Reply

