Doilies

Standard

My grandma asked me a while back if I could pick her up some size 10 crochet thread so that she could make her ladies aid group some doilies as a gift.

Since then, I have seen doilies EVERYWHERE! I never knew there were so many things to do with them. I was under the impression that you just put them under lamps or picture frames or what-not. However, there are several fashionable things to do with them.Ā  Pillow covers seem to be the most common use but I have recently seen them sewn onto dresses, wallets, clutches, necklaces, bracelets and much more.

Anyway, I decided to make a couple myself since I would be traveling and needed something to do in the car anyway. It was really not bad, I did skip a couple stitches in my first one by accident and I will never do the spider web pattern EVER again, but it really wasn’t that bad šŸ™‚ I’ll have to post pictures later (my camera’s dead) so you will have to wait!

_____________________________________________

Here are my doilies that I forgot to post pictures of šŸ˜›

This one has very nice points at each green clump (also I messed up somewhere in the very beginning so that two points are too close together. It still looks nice though, and what do you do with doilies when you have nothing to put on top of them and no end tables to put them on?

You make them into dream catchers.

9 responses »

    • You know, I was really considering making myself one as well but I was afraid the differences in thickness from the different stitches would be uncomfortable to walk/sit on. Is yours nice and squishy? What type of rope did you make yours out of? I was thinking something from Lowes or Home Depot might do the trick.

  1. NO, NO, NO, may I suggest you start with a kit. I did the Picot Rug that I got at Herrshners.com. It was easy but I guess I crochet loose because I has to buy more yarn than what was in the kit. You use 3 balls of yarn at a time with a big hook so the rug is lumpy but soft. I guess mine turned out good, I wanted to put it on the back patio but Mr Crochety said no that it would get ruined, so I have NO place to put it right now.

    • I just hopped on Herrshners.com and the Picot Rug is beautiful and at 60″ in diameter it’s a nice size rug for only $40 I don’t think you can beat that. Considering I’m starting from scratch in the furniture/accessory department in my apartment this might be another good addition. Thank you!

      I hope you find a place to put yours, I agree with Mr. Crochety about not putting it on the patio unless it wouldn’t get damp or isn’t a high traffic area. If you kept the instructions for it, you might be able to find some tougher material like a thin nylon (or something like it) and that may be more weather resistant? That’s too pretty to have no where to put it!

  2. Actually I have a rag rug out there that my Mom made and the patio is covered. It’s been there for 6 years and is still fine but it is a bit more durable. I live in South Texas it’s hot 24-7-365… ok we have a week or two of winter but, at least this year, rain is very rare!!

    I do think you have some great ideas! I get a lot of free patterns and ideas at http://www.favecrafts.com . If you have an e-book of any kind they have free craft books to download, too. If you really get into yarn crafts there are several places for free patterns. Let me know if you need help finding something!! ((HUGS))

  3. Oh wow, I live in WV where it’s hot and humid all summer (when it’s not raining buckets) which is absolutely awful when you have anything outside. If I could get you some of our rain, believe me I would, it likes to knock out the power. Unfortunately, I’ll be moving to Michigan in the fall where there’s a couple weeks of summer and then it’s cold and snowy and miserable for the rest of the time… which I guess is also awful for anything you put outside. šŸ˜¦ Also, I know in a couple of months I’ll be wishing for the heat again but I can complain about it for now. šŸ˜›

    I actually stumbled on this website a couple weeks ago and had forgotten I saved it, but this is where I got one of my doily patterns. Not all of the links work which can be aggravating but you should check it out. I hope you like it! http://www.myhq.com/public/r/a/rabbithole/

  4. Cool link I will be checking out the patterns! I noticed that some of the patterns go to different yarn brands web pages. Red Heart and Lion Brand Yarns have sites with free patterns! I had to laugh, I wanted to look at the 60’s crochet vest and guess what, I used to wear those in High School!!!! LOL! Now I’m not sure if I should laugh or cry, (cry cause I’m old!!) LOL.

    Ideas for doilies, The dream catcher is great! The 2 smaller ones would look cute stiched to each side of a darker colored throw pillow! Go great with your new furniture! You could try making some in your color scheme and get cheap picture frames, (Big Lots has great frames) to put them in using a contrasting back color, taa daa artwork!!

    Sorry about moving to ice and snow, what school are you going to??

    • That is great about the 60s vest! I love it šŸ™‚

      Also, I think you can read my mind. The reason I made two of the smaller doilies is so I could have a couple little throw pillows to have around but that’s also a good idea about the frames. I’ll have to think about it. I finally got around to starching them so they’ll have a little bit of shape to them.

      I’ll be going to Eastern Michigan to work on an Ecology degree this fall. I’m actually really excited about going back to school. I do unfortunately have to teach freshman labs which hopefully won’t be as big of a nightmare as I imagine it will be.

  5. I am having trouble with the vintage spider web pattern. I saw that you have done it. Did you have problems with round 10? I completed round 10 but I’m not sure if I did it correctly. Round 11, I cannot get 40 loops in each round. I was wondering if maybe there was a typo in the pattern. Any input you might have might help me. Thanks

Leave a Reply

